The Great War Exhibition Wellington

A couple of weeks ago when we were in Wellington we went to the exhibit in the Dominion Museum.

All I can really say is wow! It’s really unlike any museum exhibit I have ever been to before. The thing I loved most about it was it was a walk through timeline of events, from a small town in Austria where the war started all the way to the battlefields and home again. It really is a lot to take in and I found some parts of it quite overwhelming and a bit emotional.

The life sized models help you put it into perspective and the black and white photos that have been colourised really made me look at them a different way than I had ever done before.

If I had been on my own I would have spent hours there but since I was with a 4 year old we probably spent a good couple of hours there before she got hangry and needed lunch.

If you’re in Wellington or you haven’t checked out this exhibit it’s really worth checking out, I’d love to do one of their guided tours one day to really get the full experience.

On site as well is the War Memorial and the grave of the unknown soldier. This was something that was quite emotional for me. Especially inside the memorial where family members had left photos and messages of their loved ones there.

There’s something about bringing it back to human level. thinking about individual people rather than numbers that is so important and that’s what I think this exhibit does really well.

Have you been yet?

Robin xx

Leave a Reply

