Feilding Craft and Vintage Fair

Last Friday I went to check out the Feilding Craft Market. This is the first time in 3 years I haven’t been a stall holder so I was interested to see what it was like this time around.

This is the second time it’s been at Manfeild and I can now say both as a stall holder and a customer I don’t like it. It’s cold and it doesn’t really create the kind of shopping atmosphere you need. I know it’s much bigger than the hall it’s normally so it’s a bit easier to get around, especially if you have kids or wheelchairs but I still think the hall is better.

Cutest little crochet toys from Flynn Fancy

The other thing that was different this year was that there was a $5 door charge, I didn’t see this advertised anywhere so I got a bit of a surprise at that after all this fair has been going on for over 25 years and it has always been free so I’m not sure why they would now charge a door fee. As a stallholder I tend to avoid markets with door chargers because people tend to spend less inside.

Again from Flynn Fancy you need to check out this clever mum of 5’s gorgeous stuff!

Inside there was all the usual stall holders, the lovely couple that sell wooden toys, the lady that sells beautiful dolls clothes and the lady with all the knitted toys. These are the people that have been doing craft shows for years and years and don’t have fancy websites and Facebook pages so it’s really cool to see them there every year and support them.

Gorgeous hat from Haddie’s

I only came away with a few things Miss 4 brought a new dress for her Barbie and a little bracelet and I brought a Caramel Apple  from Jean Jeanie Caramel Apples for all of us to share for dessert. Overall it felt like there were fewer stalls than there had been in years past because there were some that were very spread out. From the stall holders I spoke to the Friday was quite quiet but Saturday was better. Obviously this time of year there aren’t many people out shopping but as a crafter it’s great to get out in the winter months to an indoor event!

Gorgeous stall from Vintage European Furniture
Would you like to see more Market reviews?
Would you like to be a contributor for Crazy Mother Crafter email me on vintagespicenz@yahoo.co.nz
One comment

Leave a Reply

