All I Know Now- A Book Discussion

Normally these would be called book reviews but I thought it may be nice just to have a wee discussion about the book rather than harshly critiquing it. I will tell you what I liked, what I didn’t and generally what I thought and felt while reading it. So no star ratings or other made up scoring will be going on.

This week it is “All I Know Now” by Carrie Hope Fletcher.
Firstly it’s only right to introduce her because this book quite rightly is her. Not only is she a talented singer, actress, songwriter, famous YouTuber and social media personality she is now also an author. Her life seems quite glamorous from the outset she’s a young beautiful women who lives in London and stars in Les Miserables on the West End. But she is far more than that. Through this book you get to know her, probably more than you would if you sat down for a cup of tea with her. You really get the sense that these are her true and sometimes raw feelings about the things she has experienced in her life.

The book is a sort of memoir/advice book for growing up and getting through those tough in between years! The thing that makes this book different to other memoirs is that is written for today. The topics about social media, online privacy and the likes are totally new to this generation because today’s world is a totally different one than our parents grew up in. I am a couple of years older than Carrie, she’s 22 and I’m 24 so I found this more relatable/funny memoir than a book of advice as I have already lived through a lot of similar experiences myself. I found a lot of the things that Carrie wrote about to be all too familiar and by her sharing a lot of personal stories it became even more relatable.

This book would be suited to teens and young adults, whether it’s for a bit of advice on how to get through the sticky parts of growing up or just to have a giggle and look back on how mixed up those years can be- which is what I found myself doing! I loved all the little Carrie touches in the book, the handwriting, little illustrations and quirky chapters. Carrie writes in a conversational tone which is easy to read and offers some real insight into her life.

Totally recommend this book to all young adults in particular and I will be purchasing a copy (so I can keep mine!) for my niece because I know she will love it too!

Tell me what you thought about if you have read it?!

Robin xx

Leave a Reply

