How I got Started blogging, business and crafting.

I knew from age 14 what I wanted to do for a job, after a 3 day work experience at a pharmacy I knew that’s what I was going to do.
When I started dating my now husband at 16 I was studying to become a Pharmacy Technician and pretty much had the next 5 years set get qualified and start my off my adult life.
It wasn’t until I had my daughter that I found my love of crafting, just after she was born I decided I wanted to learn how to sew. So with my Great Grandmothers sewing machine, some fabric and a bunch of YouTube videos I made it happen. I remember the first YouTube video was “How to thread a sewing machine”

Far from perfect but I thought it was quite an accomplishment and it is still together 3 years later and much loved by my daughter. I didn’t grow up in a crafty home, my mum is an early childhood teacher so she did a wee bit of scrapbooking but that’s as far as it went.
It’s pretty safe to say after that I was pretty hooked. Fastforward a few months and a few  projects later I made the bouquets for my wedding.
It was exactly a month after my wedding late at night (when I get all my bright over ambitious ideas) that I decided to start my business.
I built Vintage Spice up over the next 3 years and learnt so much about the world of business and marketing. I really did have the best job in the world, I got to meet awesome people, travel, and create. I made the decision to close my business at the end of last year you can read about it Here. While I was running my business I started a blog to support the other online stuff I was doing, it was then that I rediscovered my love of writing. I felt that my business blog was just that a business blog and I felt I couldn’t talk about all the other random things going on on that blog.
So that’s how Crazy Mother Crafter started! A place where I can share my knowledge about small handmade businesses to help other work at home mums like I was. When I first started there was nothing like that written by a New Zealander and this is now a blog that I wish I had read when I first started my business!
Robin xx

 

Leave a Reply

